district logo

▪ Promise   ▪ Passion   ▪ Purpose   ▪ Progress   ▪ Pride

Infinite Campus for Staff staff email staff directory
ViewGrant County Schools


 GCHS's 2018 Governor's Scholars:  M Boden, M Vogt, J Alger, K Torres-Sanchez, B Spratt 

GCHS's 2018 Governor's Scholars
L to R:  Matthew Boden, Madison Vogt, Jonas Alger, Katia Torres-Sanchez, Benjamin Spratt



Grant County High School will again be well represented when the prestigious Kentucky Governor’s Scholars program convenes for 2018. 

Chosen this year from among Kentucky’s top juniors were:  Jonas Alger, Matthew Boden, Katia Torres-Sanchez, Benjamin Spratt, and Madison Vogt (Alternate). These students will join other top students representing every county in the state and participate in a robust and challenging 5-week program held at one of three college campuses throughout Kentucky. 

The Governor’s Scholars Program was established in 1983, with the mission to “enhance Kentucky’s next generation of civic and economic leaders and to create models of education excellence for teachers and students.” The program provides academic and personal growth through a strong liberal arts program, together with a full co-curricular and residential life experience. 

The selection process is highly competitive – with the state GSP selection committee evaluating the ACT scores, grade point averages, community service, extra-curricular involvement, awards, leadership experiences, letters of recommendation, and writing samples of hundreds of applicants. Once selected, the students have the opportunity to participate in the program free-of-charge, and upon completion become eligible for a number of scholarship opportunities. 

It is this promise for unique experiences, opportunities, and growth that motivates students to embrace the arduous application process. It is not unusual for a student to invest 40 hours or more in their application, but each consider it worth it.  “The program has such an outstanding reputation for challenging its participants and providing opportunities to meet and work with like-minded students,” states Jonas Alger. “I’m really excited and thankful for the opportunity.”  Congratulations and best wishes to our 2018 Governors Scholars!

Print This Article